Password protect content

Viewing: Home > Learn WordPress > Password protect content

WordPress has some built-in features that make restricting content to certain visitors easy. This is a great way to provide clients with a private way to review content or do proofing.

When editing a post or page, look for your “Publish” menu box and click on the “edit” link next to Visibility.
edit visibility
The default setting is for your post/page to be “public”, or accessible to anyone who visits your blog. You can also set a post/page to be “private” or “password protected”.

visibility_protected_options

Private – A private post/page is only visible to some visiting the site who is logged in as an administrator. Unless you’ve set up your blog to have multiple users that are posting, that would just be you.

Password Protected – If you select this option, viewers will be prompted to enter a password to view the content.

  • If this content is a Post, it will appear within the normal flow of your blog, but everywhere that the content would normally be displayed there will be a field to enter a password instead. This way, only people that you have given the unique password for that post/page will be able to view the content.
  • If this content is a Page, it will not be linked to on your site unless you specifically provide a link to the content (e.g., in a Navigation Menu Bar, etc.) or if you use an ‘automatic’ link type somewhere on your site. (e.g., a link type which lists all of your Pages, etc.)
    This is a great option when regular site viewers should not be aware the content exists unless they have a link to the Page.
password-protected-screenshot

Some photogrophers use this for client proofing

Optionally, you could create another Page to provide links to each of the individual client content pages, or you could use Menu Links to provide an easy way to access these pages right from the Navigation Menu Bar!

Special note: If you are able to view a protected page/post without having to provide a password, you may have already signed into the page/post before and your browser has ‘remembered’ your login. Clear your web browser cache to confirm, but if you see “Protected” in your page/post Title, the WordPress system will require a password to view the content.

Removing the word “Protected” from the title

Want to remove the word “Protected” from the post title? The WordPress Helpers plugin gives you that option.
Want to change the sentence that appears near the password field? Edit the text in ProPhoto’s Translation area.

TODO: A note about client proofing areas: Using password-protected pages is a quick-and-dirty method for giving clients access to their photos for review. But we think that a proper workflow involves more than just looking at photos. What if you want to give your client an easy way to let you know their favorites? What if you want to accept orders? Or sell specific prints or products from the photos? How about payment? We created a tool for that, and we think you’ll find that it’s a worthy investment:

Rate this tutorial